adopt and keep calm

my little adopted boy and me.

Wahay, Year 1 is underway……..

on September 6, 2013

So, the Summer hols have ended. The last few weeks we had a holiday by the sea, a football course and a few days out with friends, but tried to keep things as calm as possible.

Bonzo took to the sea like a duck to water – IMG_0827

He for the first time agreed to enter the Natural History Museum, and what’s more even ventured through the noisy & scary dinosaur bit – that is peer power for you. He didn’t hang around, but we made it from one end to the other!IMG_0890

And bike rides have become the way forward, one day 5 miles, the next day 2 – more than I was biking at his age.IMG00203-20130902-1159

In general throughout the holidays anxiety levels have been sky high. Normally when we are away from home Bonzo is more relaxed. Our holiday this year he was more anxious and needy than ever. It had its good parts. They mainly involved the times that I was sitting on the beach out of ear shot of Bonzo whilst he was paddling with the dog.

One memorable moment we were sitting on the pavement eating ice-creams and I stood up – to stretch my legs before I could never move again. Well, this triggered the most enormous scream of ‘Mummeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, don’t leave meeeeeeee, you always leave meeeeeeeeee, Mummeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee’. And so he continued. Nothing like finishing your ice-cream with the whole tourist population of ‘tourist town on sea’ looking at you accusingly. And that was really the way of much of the holidays.’Don’t leave me, you always leave me, you are mean, you are horrid, I hate you’.

In fact he hates me so much I am not allowed out of his sight! Push pull, push pull, push pull.

For part of our week away we had friends join us, and other than the day they arrived when Bonzo was in full Bonzo mood, he settled and we had a great couple of days.

And so to school. Bonzo has not especially been looking forward to going back to school as ‘I want to spend all day with you’ (even though he hates me and I’m horrid), and ‘it’s not fair if you’re not at school with me’ blah blah blah.

The first day was chaotic, but he came home quite happy and relaxed. Last night he only slept about 5 hrs (that’s 8 less than usual) but I suspect that is alot more to do with the new era of breakfast club which started today than school.

Last night I printed off and typed out reams of info for his new teacher. Put in writing the added support that Bonzo has (I am sure she has been filled in, but not risking a downhill sprint at this point in the term) and for now will be leaving her to it. She seems lovely.

And school today – these big grown up Year 1ers, baked some biscuits, made some sandwiches, made bear ears, grabbed their teddy bears and went off on a teddy bear’s picnic. For Bonzo a great day – teddy bears and food combined – things don’t come much better than that.

8 responses to “Wahay, Year 1 is underway……..

  1. Three Pink Diamonds says:

    Enjoyed reading your blog. Sounds like you had a good summer. Hope school continues to move in the right direction and that the teacher is receptive to the info you have for her.

  2. brilliant news. really hope the transition up a year goes well – off to a great vstart as you say with food. picnic, bears and food – he will expect that more often I think!

  3. Stix says:

    Looking forward to reading more about how the transition into Year 1 has gone. I know you’ve got really receptive staff there, so finger’s crossed it’s gone/going OK….

    Thanks for linking up to #WASO x

  4. Sezz says:

    I often see similarities between Bonzo and Missy who also started Year 1 this term so I’ll be really interested to reading more about how Bonzo gets on.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 648 other followers

